Best Spin Bikes Under $500 in 2022

With a budget of $500, you might think you will struggle to find a fantastic spinning bike, but this list will prove you wrong. We have seen and tried many great indoor indoor bikes under $500. We have searched high and low to find the best indoor cycles under $500 to get the most value for your money. We were able to find spin bikes in all shapes and sizes on this list, and every exercise bike has been put under some severe testing.

Exercising on an indoor cycling bike has some incredible benefits and can improve your life so much. We all here believe that everyone should have access to fitness equipment. Though not everyone wants to go to the gym, not everyone is interested in indoor cycling with others in cycling studios, and we understand entirely.

We wanted to help you find the perfect exercise bike under $500 so you can bring cardio workout into your home and your life. There are so many benefits of exercise in general not just cycling indoors. The main thing being your health and to get the best out of your body. When it comes to spin bikes under 500 dollars, there are many options on the market, and it can be challenging to navigate. Therefor, we wanted to research for you, so you didn’t have to. Enjoy our list of the eight best spin bikes under $500, and before we start, here’s a summary of what we tested them on.

Considerations When Looking for Spin Bikes Under $500

Long-lasting and durable

All of them are designed to last for many, many years due to their heavy-duty all-steel construction. They feature long wear and highly durable powder-coated finishes that not only look good but will last for years. Spinning bikes such as Keiser M3i that are entirely made in the USA are incredibly high quality and built to last forever.

Sturdy enough to handle the weight

Without a stable platform to support all excess weight, the chances of it tipping over increase exponentially. A perfect Spin Bike under 500 is one that the rider should ride just like a traditional outdoor bicycle without worrying about it tipping over.

Adjustability

When searching to find a good indoor cycle for a home gym, you should almost certainly look for one that is highly adjustable and has ergonomic design. For the most part, this is referring to the seat position, the handlebar position. Riding your bike shouldn’t be a painful experience. It should be fun, and you should be able to sit on the bike for hours. That said, there are other factors such as bad seat, incorrect bike fitting, or wrong workout clothing that can give you a painful experience on your indoor bike which can be avoided.

Workout computers and LCD Displays

A Spin Bike with a monitor is designed to make the bike much more efficient for the rider. It can track all metrics like cadence (very important for spinning routines), watt, distance, speed, and heart rate. While these stationary bikes under $500 don’t have touchscreen monitors, there are more expensive models like Peloton and Peloton alternatives that offer LCD touch screens that can work in conjunction with specific software or online fitness services, such as iFit and Peloton.

Pedal-foot and restraint systems

If you are an avid cyclist and happen to be looking for an indoor cycling bike under $500, chances are you have already developed a preference for pedals. Most Spin Bikes under $500 use two different types of toe restraint on the pedals to help your feet stay on the pedals. This is especially important during high-intensity workouts when you don’t want your feet to slip off the pedals. Today’s top indoor cycling bike under $500 usually will come standard pedals with either a toe clip SPD mechanism (connects directly to the bottom of cycling shoes), a toe cage system, or a combination of both, often referred to as dual-sided spin bike pedals.


Editor’s Choice For Under $500!

Echelon EX-15 Indoor Cycling Bike
Echelon EX-15 Indoor Bike

Our expert indoor cycling team have already reviewed the 8 top indoor bikes under $500 and listed them in this article. However, because every day new home spinning bikes under 500 become available on the market, I created this section to immediately point you to the Editor’s best spin bike pick under $500.

On regular basis, I search the market and find one bike that I believe is truly the top indoor cycling bike under $500 and then I add it here, in the Editor’s Choice section. This way, you can easily understand what I believe is the best indoor bike under 500 without having to waste time and read the whole article.

For this month, I have picked the Echelon EX-15 indoor cycling bike. This bike truly has some unique features including 300 lbs weight capacity, a one-year warranty on all the parts, a fully adjustable and comfortable seat, and ergonomic handlebars. Plus, this indoor bike has magnetic resistance which is better than friction. On top of that, the EX-15 indoor cycle comes with Bluetooth to synch the workout data with the Echelon application.


Top Indoor Bikes Under $500

No 1: Echelon EX-15 Magnetic Spin Bike

 in stock
2 used from $460.80
Free shipping
Amazon.com
as of June 29, 2022 9:55 am

Echelon EX-15 is one of the most affordable and best value options in this spin bike review under $500. It is also listed as one of the best spin bikes in the US. You can straight away see that a lot of time has gone into this bike, and it had to be on this list.

The design is simple but effective. The bike build is high-quality materials and has been built well. The oversized tubing and design make it look like a bike that should have been $2000, not less than $500. We here love the sleek black and silver look and are impressed how it doesn’t look like many other bikes on this list.

As with many of the other bikes on this list, it has an excellent transmission system and is frictionless and magnetic. Unlike some of the other bikes, it has five magnets which slowly positioned close to the flywheel to create resistance. It’s tranquil and has a smooth motion to the way it rides.

Echelon EX15 has worked on the handlebar design, and they have made it capable of moving vertically with many hand-grip positions. This may not sound like much, but the verity of hand-positions offer another level of comfort on this exercise bike.

Unfortunately this indoor bike doesn’t have an LCD screen. But don’t worry because it comes with Bluetooth wireless RPM sensor that transfers your workouts to Echelon applications. You can install the application your phone or tablet and connect the bike with the app.

On the Echelon application you will given your speed, resistant level, the calories burned, time, heart rate, and distance. The bad news is that it doesn’t record your RPM/cadence and the bike is only compatible with Echelon application, not with other indoor cycling applications such as Peloton or Zwift. To see your workouts, you don’t need subscription but to access the Peloton’s online spinning exercise classes, you would need to an extra $39 per month.

Overall, I think the Echelon is a great indoor cycling bike and a great alternative to the Kouz Live but does only cater for people who are willing to use their smartphone or tablet if workout progress. So, this bike wont be for everyone. One last thing before I forget is that if you have a child at home, this might be the best option for you as all the sharp metal edges of the bike (mainly flywheel) is covered.

Pros:

  • Tablet holder on the handlebars;
  • Emergency brake system and magnetic resistance;
  • Sturdy frame and compact portable design;
  • Bluetooth technology and covered flywheel;

Cons:

  • No monitor is built on the bike;
  • There is no RPM reading;
  • Pedals are not SPD compatible;
7.5Expert Score
Editors Thoughts

I couldn’t write this list without mentioning this exercising bike. Echelon has put time into this spin bike, and it shows you get a lot for your money. The only reason I rate it the same as the Yesoul are that there is no monitor available on the bike.


No 2: Women’s Health Indoor Exercise Bike

 in stock
Amazon.com
as of June 29, 2022 9:55 am

The Women and Men’s Health spin bike, It’s a powerful statement from quite a new brand on the indoor cycling market. They have recently brought a lot of equipment to the market, and it’s been getting rated very highly. I can see by looking at this bike why it’s excellent value for money and gives some of the more prominent brands something to worry about.

The frame is high quality. It feels excellent and is very quiet to ride. Its low noise level ensures a smooth riding experience. In sprints and high resistance, it plants itself to the floor.

This stationary bike’s flywheel is fixed and is of a lovely heavyweight. It also has a powerful manually adjustable magnetic resistance system, which can cater to any user from a new spinner to a pro cyclist. It is a frictionless system and is extremely quiet when being used.

This indoor bike has Bluetooth connectivity and the ability to approximate your RPM and estimate your watts. Last but not least, this indoor cycle comes with a tablet holder for entertainment and a bottle holder to keep you hydrated during the workout.

If you want Bluetooth and don’t mind paid subscription or the lack of screen, this indoor bike is for you as its the only bike on this list with Bluetooth compatibility.

Pros:

  • Magnetic resistance and immediate stop option
  • Bluetooth connectivity, RPM, and watt reading
  • Fully adjustable comfortable seats
  • Tablet and bottle holders
  • Good warranty

Cons:

  • Women’s Health and Men’s Health Eclipse bike doesn’t include any LCD monitor, so you need to use your device
  • The handlebars are not horizontally adjustable
  • There are no SPD elements on the pedals
7Expert Score
Editors Thoughts

This may be quite a new brand on the market, but they have hit the ground running, and I feel they produce some excellent bikes that can’t be ignored. The only downside is that there is no screen and you need to use your own Bluetooth device.


No 3: Joroto X2 Belt Indoor Cycling Bike

 in stock
Amazon.com
as of June 29, 2022 9:55 am

Joroto X2 is one of the best spin bikes under $500 because it’s got everything it needs and a little more. I wasn’t sure about this bike when I first saw it, but I can recommend it for this list after having some time with it.

The bike is a solid frame and comes in pretty small compared to most, so it’s easy to store and goes into smaller homes. The bike doesn’t look out of place in a high-end home gym, and the oversized flywheel at the front is a nice view when riding. It’s very bold looking, and I think they have gone a little crazy with the red flower pattern on the flywheel, but it’s not about its performance, and the frame is solid, sturdy, and performs well.

Just like the other bikes, it has a magnetic resistance system. This one has more magnets than most others and packs a punch on the resistance level. The flywheel is nice and heavy and coming in at 30lbs paired with that magnetic resistance gives the ride an excellent quality. The sound of this bike is super quiet, and I would happily use it early in the morning, not worrying about waking neighbors up.

Its seat and handlebars can be adjusted vertically and horizontally, giving you a tremendous amount of adjustability. It’s got a great saddle, and getting used to it won’t take long. This probably is one of the most comfortable bikes on this list.

This is a good bike and I would be happy with it in my home gym but it has a low weight capacity of 280lbs and also only a 30lbs flywheel. If all the other bikes were out of stock I’d be looking at this bike.

Pros:

  • Solid build
  • Whisper-quiet operation
  • Adjustable handlebar and seat
  • Tablet holder
  • Belt drive spin bike

Cons:

  • The table holder covers the bottle holder if the tablet is placed in it.
  • No backlit and RPM reading
  • No SPD elements on the pedals
7Expert Score
Editors Thoughts

Tranquil and fantastic transmission system. Solid to ride, and I feel confident in giving this bike a challenging workout.


No 4: EFITMENT Indoor Cycle Bike

 in stock
Amazon.com
as of June 29, 2022 9:55 am

The Fitment bike was very close to being my favorite on the list. It’s simple and boasts some fantastic qualities in a straightforward setup. It looks excellent and rides even better. Plus, I like the blue it’s a nice touch on the color side of things.

This bike, as you can already see, looks great. The frame is of a very high standard. I like the oversized downtube. It’s a small bike, but don’t let that put you off. It is solid when under load, and I wouldn’t be worried about going into a big sprint on it.

The flywheel is a heavy 40lbs. It gives the bike a wonderfully smooth ride, which any bike in this range struggles to match. The momentum feels like your feet are gliding through the workout. With the belt drive and magnetic resistance, this bike runs perfectly and requires no maintenance.

The bike is built to match various riders. It has a great tiny LCD screen, giving you primary data as the other bikes in this list do. Pedals are metal and feel of high quality. They have put a water bottle holder on the front on the side of the flywheel fork. I haven’t seen this on many bikes and thought it was an inventive idea.

This bike has the heaviest Flywheel of 40lbs which is amazing but it lets itself down at the user capacity being only 275lbs, this is the second lowest capacity in the list. It is still a good bike but many of the other bikes will cater for more users and be better value for money.

Pros:

  • Quieter experience with the belt-driven system
  • Tablet holder to keep you hydrated
  • Fully adjustable seat and handlebars
  • Tablet and water bottle holder

Cons:

  • The magnets are small for a high-intensity workout
  • There is no backlit and RPM reading on the monitor
  • No SPD elements on the pedals
7Expert Score
Editors Thoughts

Quiet, fun, and a solid ride. Worth every penny when it’s not overprices. Unfortunately this spin bike is often priced above $400 which takes it off the list of best value spin bikes, especially compared to the Kouz Live and WHMH indoor cycling bikes.


No 5: Yesoul Indoor Cycling Bike

 in stock
Amazon.com
as of June 29, 2022 9:55 am

The Yesoul Spinning bike is on this list because it is excellent. Firstly the way it looks will turn some heads if anyone walks past your how workout room. It packs a punch on the resistance side too.

The frame is of excellent quality and has a nice structure to it. Let’s first consider the time they have taken into the sweat protection barriers and the frame. The design will promote the frame lasting a very long time. Secondly, the Bluetooth connectivity and the oversized belt-pulley that gives good gear ratio make it stand out.

The bike has a magnetic resistance system. It is a very quiet setup and is frictionless, so no need for a brake pad every couple of years. The flywheel of this indoor bike weighs 10 lbs which is not really great for the price. However, combined with the series of magnets will give you sufficient resistance to battle against. The bearings are good quality and it’s fun to ride and stays solid no matter how much pressure it’s under.

Additionally, it has a bottle holder, and the soft, curved padded seat will see you through those long indoor cycling rides. It’s possible that you don’t find this bike’s seat comfortable as there is no one-seat-fits all. But it’s not a deal breaker, you can always replace it with a comfortable spin bike seat like Velmia.

What I didn’t like about the Yesoul is that it didn’t come with a screen to see my workout. I had to use its Bluetooth to connect with my smartphone and see my cycling workout data. It is not cool that there is no monitor as some people don’t want use a phone or tablet on the bike but at least they built the bike with Bluetooth RPM sensor to connect with Yesoul, Zwift and other indoor cycling applications.

Once you connect the bike to your favourit cycling application, you can track your RPM (cadence), distance, calorie, pulse, and resistance level. Many bikes in this price range don’t come with a Bluetooth that connect with popular cycling applications like Zwift, so we’re happy they have made an effort to add one.

Yet again as with the Joroto X2, the Yesoul ticks all the boxes and is a good spin bike under $500. I just wish they included a screen so I could see my workouts without having to use my smartphone or tablet.

Pros:

  • Emergency stop plus silent magnetic resistance;
  • Aluminum alloy bottle holder and good tablet holder;
  • Bluetooth technology to transfer workout data with cycling applications;
  • Low maintenance belt-driven transmission;

Cons:

  • Handlebars are the only two way adjustable
  • No fitness monitor screen is on the bike
  • No SPD elements and no RPM readings
7Expert Score
Editors Thoughts

I like the inbuilt heart rate monitor and the magnetic resistance. But this one is not my favourite as it offers a screen to see your cycling data, yet it is often priced higher than competitor indoor bikes.


No 6: Yosuda Belt Drive Indoor Spin Bike

 in stock
2 new from $399.99
2 used from $326.39
Free shipping
Amazon.com
as of June 29, 2022 9:55 am

Yosuda is another exciting addition to the best magnetic spin bikes under 500. It looks great, and wow does it perform. The road bike handlebars are a big win in my books, and I really would have thought this bike would have cost much more than $500.

The bike has an oversized frame to keep it solid and sturdy. When riding, it’s incredibly stable and controls the sprints well, and the frame design enhances the overall experience of the ride.

The inertia-enhanced flywheel weighs 40lbs, and alongside, a magnetic transmission system works perfectly. It’s much smoother and tranquil compared to other bikes of this price range. Maintenance-free, and you’re going to need some powerful legs to challenge this bike at its max resistance.

The multi-grip bike handlebars are a great feature, and many people will only get bikes. As a road cyclist myself, I can see why they are a great asset to any bike and completely change the experience. It sports an LCD monitor with time, RPM/Cadence, speed, heart rate, burned, and distance. For the long rides has a water bottle too.

This bike is the only one on the list with an adjustable well-built tablet holder and that for me is a big win. It’s very different and offers something special. It even has a 40lbs Flywheel and the user weight capacity is 350lbs. This would be a very close choice next to the Yesoul which I think are built by the same people.

Pros:

  • Safe cycling experience;
  • Inertia enhanced flywheel;
  • Forward and backward handlebar adjustment;
  • Durable and conveniently built tablet holder;
  • Quiet magnetic resistance and a belt-driven system;

Cons:

  • No Bluetooth to transfer data to applications;
  • There is no backlit on the monitor;
  • No SPD elements on the handlebars;
7Expert Score
Editors Thoughts

I love the handlebar adjustment. It makes it appealing to road cyclists and everyone else who want to achieve a perfect bike fit. Because of that and the quality, it had to be on this list. This one is worth the investment especially if full exercise bike adjustment, RPM (unavailable on most competitors) and tablet holder are what you are looking for.


No 7: Goplus Magnetic Exercise Bike

 in stock
1 used from $383.25
Free shipping
Amazon.com
as of June 29, 2022 9:55 am

Goplus isn’t a brand you hear much of in the indoor cycling world. Though we see this very often and it’s nothing to be worried about. The bike is well put together, and you can see a lot of time has gone into the design, and they have been inspired by other bikes on the market.

The bike has a very classic simple spinning bike design, and it is no thrills. It’s fundamental, but it’s not a bad thing. It’s a good thing. With Spin bike, simplicity is critical, and we rate this highly.

Like the other bikes, it has a belt-drive transmission and magnetic resistance. There will be next to no maintenance, and you are going to get a lovely experience riding this cycle. With magnetic systems, they are frictionless and very quiet. The flywheel is heavy and spins well. This setup is fundamental, but it does a great job.

Like the past couple of bikes, the handlebars offer the ability to move horizontally and vertically. The saddle is comfortable, and after a few rides, the longer rides come easily. It has an LCD that is basic and not backlit. It displays time, speed, pulse, distance, scan, and calories burned.

Although this is a fantastic bike it really doesn’t step up like the Kouz Live does. If you have the choice between the two this, in my opinion, is second but with the market being very popular at the minute it’s still good value for money.

Pros:

  • Maintenance-free belt and magnetic resistance
  • 30 lbs flywheel for a smooth exercise
  • Ergonomically designed
  • Professional indoor cycling set

Cons:

  • The warranty period is too short
  • The monitor is not backlit
  • No RPM reading on the monitor
6.5Expert Score
Editors Thoughts

Great no thrills bike, it’s on here because it is a quality bit of kit. It may not be super-advanced, but it’s well made and worth the money. As long as it is cheaper than the Kouz Live, I recommend you to consider this one out.


No 8: Kouz Live Indoor Cycling Spin Bike

 in stock
2 new from $399.99
Free shipping
Amazon.com
as of June 29, 2022 9:55 am

Kouz Live is a spinning bike that comes really well made and has some really advanced technology. Not only is it a great-looking bike it. It comes with exciting features that will impress you every time you ride it.

This bike can accommodate the majority of riders and is a powerful design. It’s stable and, when ridden, feels sturdy and responsive for the user. Having a bike that can give you confidence in its structure and ability will boost your workout.

The Kouz Live spin bike has a belt drive system that is of incredible quality. Belt drives require next to no maintenance and characteristically are quieter and much more efficient than chain drive bikes. It’s linked up to the heavy flywheel, which has seven magnets positioned on the outside. The closer you dial these magnets in, the more challenging the resistance.

The handlebar and saddle are adjustable vertically and horizontally. The caged pedals are of good quality and grip the feet well with the caged strap. For tracking your workout progress, you can use the LCD monitor. It’s not backlit, but it displays time, speed, calories burned, and distance. The tablet holder is a nice touch, and on a set up of this price well worth every penny.

Compared to the other bikes the Kouz Live has the highest weight capacity. It has a 35lbs Flywheel which is about mid range compared to the others and boasts probably the best warranty.

Pros

  • Sturdy frame
  • Strong magnetic resistance
  • Adjustable seat and handlebars
  • LCD tracking system
  • Non-slip fully adjustable handlebars
  • One year free replacement of parts

Cons

  • There is no backlit on the monitor
  • No SPD elements on the pedals
  • No RPM/cadence reading on the monitor
6.5Expert Score
Editors Thoughts

The Kouz Live gives you so much for your money, and it can’t be matched by anything in this price range. It’s an excellent bike, and if I was on a budget of $500 would be my first choice.


Comparison Table of the Best Spin Bikes Under $500

Best Spin Bikes Under $500 Comparison Chart
NAMEVERDICTMONITORCAPACITYFLYWHEELRESISTANCE
Echelon EX-15 Magnetic Spin BikeGreat spin bike but Yesoul is a better alternative option if you want Zwift connectivity.Distance, HR, Speed, Time, & Calories264 Pounds30 Lbs
Belt-Drive
Eddy Current Magnetic
Women's Health Eclipse Indoor Bike
If you want Bluetooth and don't mind paid subscription or the lack of screen, this indoor bike is for you. I prefer Echelon because its flywheel is covered.No monitor but tracks the Watt, RPM, Distance, Speed, & Time via Bluetooth300 Pounds30 Lbs
Belt-Drive
Eddy Current Magnetic
Joroto X2 Belt Drive Indoor Cycling BikeGreat spin bike but like the Efitment bike, it is overpriced at $450 and doesn't offer more than the Kouz LiveDistance, HR, Speed, Time, & Calories280 Pounds30 Lbs
Best Drive
Eddy Current Magnetic
EFITMENT Indoor Cycle BikeAt $450, this spin bike is overpriced, especially compared to Kouz Live indoor cycleDistance, Pulse, Speed, Time, & Calories275 Pounds40 Lbs
Best Drive
Eddy Current Magnetic
Yesoul Belt Drive Indoor Spin BikeAt its original price of $400, it is a decent spin bike, especially if you want to use it with ZwiftNo monitor but tracks the RPM, Distance, Resistance, Speed, & Time via Bluetooth300 Pounds10 Lbs
Best Drive
Eddy Current Magnetic
Yosuda Indoor Cycling BikeOverpriced at $480. If Joroto X2 is available, I recommend that one insteadDistance, RPM, HR, Speed, Time, & Calories350 Pounds40 Lbs
Best Drive
Eddy Current Magnetic
Goplus Magnetic Exercise BikeGood value but often more expensive than Kouz which is a superior indoor bikeDistance, HR, Speed, Time, & Calories300 Pounds30 Lbs
Belt-Drive
Eddy Current Magnetic
Kouz Live Indoor Cycling Spin BikeIt's an excellent value spin bike under 500 thanks to its warranty and dual-bottle holdersDistance, Speed, Time, & Calories330 Pounds35 Lbs
Belt-Drive
Eddy Current Magnetic

What Should I look for in a Spin Bike?

budget-indoor-bike-buying-guide

When searching for a spinning bike, you need to make sure that its technical and physical specifications are top-notch. These include its flywheel weight, pedals, frame quality, user weight capacity, adjustability, display screen, and more important, you need to look for spin bikes with magnetic resistance. All these features plus spin bike’s resistance system make a huge different in your indoor cycling experience.

What are the Best Spin Bikes for Home Use?

Echelong EX5s review

Spin bikes like NordicTrack S22i, Schwinn IC4, Echelon IX5S, Keiser M3i, and Peloton are considered some of the best home-use bikes. But unfortunately, they cost more than $500, often even up to $2500.

Is a Home Spin Bike Worth it?

indoor-cycling-weight-loss-tips

Yes! A good spin bike for home use delivers quality cardio exercise with minimal maintenance and repair issues. You can burn up to 800 calories per hour using a home spin bike to improve over all health and get fit.

What is the best spin bike for cycling studio?

Keiser M3i Review

Some of the best options include the Keiser M3i commercial indoor cycle and the Nordictrack S22i Studio Indoor Cycling Bike. Generally, you need to avoid low-cost spin bikes for cycling studios because they simply don’t have the required durability to be used my multiple riders every day.

What is the Difference between Home and Commercial Gym Bikes?

Best Spin Bikes Under $2000

Commercial spin bikes are structured for high-power duty and use for long periods in a day. They are rugged and very durable and usually have. Home bikes on the other hand are a bit on the lighter side and cannot tolerate heavy-duty use.

Is a Heavier Flywheel Better on a Spin Bike?

spin bike flywheel explained

Heavier flywheels are generally recommended for their smoother operation compared to lighter flywheels. A flywheel is considered heavy from 30Ibs and above. However, there are exceptions where a quality spin bike with a light flywheel has an ultra-smooth momentum and consistency.

Summary

When it comes to a budget of $500, you’d think that you are limited, but the market has so much in it. It took us a long time to get this list down to only eight indoor cycling bikes under $500. We think every indoor bike on this list is excellent value for money and will give you a fantastic ride. The list will change regularly as new bikes come out and technology improves. My favorite on the list is the Echelon EX-15. It’s a fantastic bike for the money and would be a massive asset to any home gym.

BEMH
Logo