10 Best Rowing Machine Mats For Carpet & Hardwood Floors

Investing in rowing machines for your home is a total game-changer when it comes to personal health. It’s super convenient because you can stay fit without even leaving the comfort of your own home. But here’s the thing – these awesome fitness buddies can unintentionally cause damage to different types of flooring, like stone, tile, wood, and vinyl. To avoid all these problems, it’s absolutely crucial to invest in the best rowing machine mats.

These indoor rower mats not only protect your flooring but also allow you to have longer and more intense workouts. In our detailed reviews, we’ve explored a wide range of exercise equipment mats specifically designed for rowing machines. Our focus was on finding the best options such as SuperMats 29GS, Powr Labs, Sunny Health & Fitness, Stamina Fold-to-Fit, MotionTex, BalanceFrom GoFit, Wercho, RevTime, Jishahs, and Crostice PVC.

Best Overall Recommendation: SuperMats 29GS Rowing Machine Mat

Best Rowing Machine Mat - SuperMats 29GS
SuperMats 29GS – Best Floor Mat for Indoor Rowing Workouts

Selecting the perfect gym floor mat for your rowing machine can be overwhelming, but fear not—I’ve found the ideal choice: the SuperMats 29GS. Tested under my WaterRower Club, it stood out with easy unrolling, no unpleasant odors, and impressive thickness compared to competitors. This mat not only shields my hardwood floor effectively but also adds extra cushioning for a more comfortable workout. Competitively priced and proudly Made in the U.S.A., the SuperMats 29GS is a solid investment, offering a silent and sturdy workout haven. For hard floors, carpets, and wooden surfaces, it’s my top recommendation.

$51.84
in stock
6 used from $45.96
as of February 26, 2024 7:07 am
Amazon.com
$46.99
in stock
as of February 26, 2024 7:07 am
Amazon.com
$35.99
$49.00
in stock
2 new from $35.99
7 used from $28.56
as of February 26, 2024 7:07 am
Amazon.com
$40.07
$50.00
in stock
4 new from $39.59
4 used from $35.62
as of February 26, 2024 7:07 am
Amazon.com
$42.79
$59.99
in stock
6 used from $34.86
as of February 26, 2024 7:07 am
Amazon.com
$30.88
in stock
3 used from $29.31
as of February 26, 2024 7:07 am
Amazon.com
$72.99
in stock
as of February 26, 2024 7:07 am
Amazon.com
$65.85
in stock
2 new from $65.85
as of February 26, 2024 7:07 am
Amazon.com
$36.99
in stock
as of February 26, 2024 7:07 am
Amazon.com
$19.99
$29.99
in stock
as of February 26, 2024 7:07 am
Amazon.com
Last updated on February 26, 2024 7:07 am

Best Mats For Indoor Rowers: Compare Material, Size, Weight, and Thickness

NAMEMATERIALSSIZEWEIGHTTHICKNESS
SuperMats 29GS Indoor Rowing Machine MatPVC36" x 102"6 Lbs7 mm
Powr Labs Heavy-Duty Protective Floor MatPVC36" x 102"6 Lbs6 mm
Sunny Health & Fitness Equipment MatPVC39.5" x 90.5"5.5 Lbs4 mm
Stamina Fold-to-Fit Folding Equipment MatFoam36" x 84"7 Lbs7 mm
MotionTex Rowing Exercise Equipment MatPVC36" x 84"14 Lbs3.7 mm
BalanceFrom GoFit High Density Rower MatPVC36" x 78"9 Lbs4.5 mm
Wercho Floor Fitness Equipment MatPVC36" x 96"5 Lbs6 mm
RevTime Home Rowing Machine Floor MatEPDM36" x 78"12 Lbs3 mm
Jishhs High Density Fitness Equipment MatPVC27.5" x 102"3.5 Lbs4 mm
Crostice Double Mini Rowing MatPVC30” by 11.75”2.5 Lbs6 mm
Check out our showdown of the coolest rowing machine mats on the block! We're diving into the deets of SuperMats 29GS, Powr Lab, Sunny Health & Fitness, Stamina Fold-to-Fit, MotionTex, BalanceFrom GoFit, Wercho, RevTime Home, Jishahs, and Crostice PVC. We're spillin' the beans on what they're made of, how big they are, how much they weigh, and how thick they go. Get ready to pimp out your workout space with the best mat that's just right for your rowing machine – because every stroke deserves a comfy landing, right?

Optimal Protection with the Best Rowing Machine Mat: SuperMats 29GS Review

Best Rowing Machine Mat - SuperMats 29GS
SuperMats 29GS – Best Floor Mat for Indoor Rowing Workouts

Kicking off our quest for the best rowing machine mats is none other than the SuperMats 29GS Mat. This mat means business, folks – it’s your floor’s frontline defense against the wrath of heavy exercise equipment and the debris dance of mechanical parts.

Let’s face it, some rowing machines pack a punch. The wrong flooring can take a beating, leaving unsightly marks in its wake. Installation mishaps? That’s a recipe for flooring disaster. Enter the 29GS – a solid vinyl warrior with heavy-duty construction, ready to shield your floor from the rowing machine’s might.

Living in an apartment? Got picky neighbors? No problem. The 29GS dampens vibrations like a pro, ensuring your rowing sessions don’t turn into a floor-shaking performance. Consider it the peacekeeper in the world of apartment workouts.

No harmful chemicals, no heavy metals – just peace of mind. This mat is safe for the whole squad, including kids and pets. It’s not just about protecting your floor; it’s about creating a safe workout haven.

Measuring in at a solid 36 inches wide and 90 inches long, this mat means business. At 7mm thickness, it’s the heavyweight champion, tipping the scales at 10 lbs. No slipping on slippery surfaces here – it’s a grip master. This mat is a thick fortress, guarding against damage on all types of flooring.

Pros & Cons:

Pros:

  • A beastly mat that laughs in the face of heavy rowers.
  • Spacious enough for most rowing machines, and its dampening effect keeps the noise in check.
  • Easy on the cleaning – a quick wipe-down and you’re golden.

Cons:

  • Pricey – quality comes at a cost.

Final Verdict:

I put a few floor mats to the test under my WaterRower Club rowing machine, and guess who stole the spotlight? The SuperMats 29GS Mat, of course! Unrolling like a champ, no weird odors, and thicker than its mat competitors. Comparable pricing, and oh, it’s proudly Made in the U.S.A.! My SmartMats mat purchase has me grinning from ear to ear – a solid investment for a silent and sturdy workout haven.

Unparalleled Protection for Your Rower: Powr Labs Floor Mat Review

Heavy-Duty Protective Mat for Rower - Powr Labs
Powr Labs – Heavy-Duty Mat for Maximum Floor Protection

Alright, folks, let’s dive into the Powr Labs Heavy-Duty Protective Floor Mat – the unsung hero of my rowing haven. What sets this mat apart? Well, it’s not just a one-size-fits-all deal; it caters to your hard floor’s personality.

Say hello to options! Got a nice wooden underfoot? The dual pad version’s got your back. Rocking hard floors like a boss? The ribbed version is your mat soulmate. Different strokes for different folks, right?

No more fretting over spills or sweat stains. This mat is a warrior against moisture and marks. Crafted from robust, heavy-duty PVC, it flexes without leaving its mark – literally. Unlike some mats out there, it won’t play Picasso on your floors.

This mat is like a ninja – silent and sturdy. Thick and dampening, it takes care of any rowing ruckus. No need to tiptoe through your workout; this mat’s got your back.

Stretch it out! At 36″ x 102″, it’s the catwalk for your longer exercise equipment. No more cramming; let your rower, elliptical, or treadmill bask in its roomy glory.

This isn’t a mat with commitment issues. It plays nice with various rowing machines, ellipticals, and treadmills. Hydrow, NordicTrack – you name it, it’s on the VIP list. I even used with the Concept 2 Model E which I think is the longest rowing machine on the market and it fit perfectly this mat.

These rowing mats aren’t just products; they’re a piece of the USA Team’s dedication. Crafted to endure the toughest workouts, just like the athletes behind it.

Made from durable and cushioned PVC, this mat boasts dimensions of 36″ x 102″. Dual pad ribbed for hard floors but also okay for carpet floors to some extend. It’s not just a mat; it’s your floor’s superhero.

Pros & Cons:

Pros:

  • The dual pad and ribbed versions nail their specialties.
  • Does the protection job like a seasoned pro.

Cons:

  • Limited to one size, and it can get a tad dented under rowing machine legs.
  • Soft structure makes it less ideal for the plush embrace of carpets.

Final Verdict:

So, is this mat worth the hype? Absolutely. It’s a robust defender against workout chaos. Personally, I had a thing for “SuperMats” in 2021, but alas, they’re MIA on Amazon. This Powr Labs gem might be softer, but on hard surfaces, it’s a winner. Carpet lovers, beware – it might not be your knight in shining armor. Priced at $54.99, it’s in line with other quality mats, assuming it’s doing its duty on a solid surface. Five stars from me – let the workouts roll, silently and stylishly.

Sunny Health & Fitness Mat Review: Ideal Floor Protection for Indoor Rowers

Sunny Health & Fitness Exercise Equipment Mat
Sunny Health & Fitness – Premium Mat for Rowing Machine

Landing in the bronze position is the Sunny Health & Fitness Exercise Equipment Mat – a mat designed to be your floor’s trusty guardian while adding a touch of comfort if you decide to repurpose it.

Crafted from high-density EVA foam, this mat is a durability maestro. It doesn’t just come in one size; it’s the mat chameleon with three sizes to match your rowing machine’s dimensions. It’s like tailoring a suit for your fitness gear.

No more worries about dust invading belts and mechanical parts. This mat’s high-density PVC foam material stands as a bulwark against floor and carpet damage. It absorbs vibrations, protecting both your fitness equipment and your floor from scratches.

Got a cramped workout space? No sweat. Roll up this mat, tuck it away in a closet or under the bed – it’s the ultimate space-saving ninja.

Unmatched durability meets cushioned comfort. The unique design and textured material strike a perfect balance between toughness and stability. Plus, it’s non-slip, water-resistant, and a breeze to clean with just a damp cloth.

From Extra Small to Large, there’s a mat size to cradle your indoor rower perfectly. Measure your equipment, choose your size, and let the Sunny Health & Fitness Mat do its magic.

Pros & Cons:

Pros:

  • A sturdy mat that doesn’t break the bank.
  • Comfortable and stable for most rowers and floors.

Cons:

  • As it’s made of foam, it’s not the heavyweight champion in durability.

Final Verdict:

I snagged the largest size for my Sunny rowing machine, and it’s doing the job. It’s the shield my floor needed, especially in the basement battleground of a concrete floor. Some reviewers might be expecting a plush workout mat, but this one is all about protecting your equipment. It’s firm, built to handle heavyweights, not meant for your comfort during crunches. Just measure, pick your size, and you’re good to go. A solid investment in keeping your gear and floors in top-notch shape.

Stamina Fold-to-Fit Mat Review: Tailored Protection for Indoor Rowing

Stamina Fold-to-Fit Folding Mat - Best for Indoor Rowing
Stamina Fold-to-Fit – Customized Mat for Your Rowing Workouts

Let’s chat about the Stamina Fold-to-Fit Folding Equipment Mat – the hero beneath my Hydrow rowing machine. This mat means business, made from closed cell foam that’s tough yet gentle enough to handle my workout hustle.

This mat isn’t just a floor protector; it’s the bouncer keeping dust and carpet fibers away from my Hydrow’s intricate hardware. It’s like body armor for my exercise gear.

Vigorous workouts? Smooth surfaces? No problem. The textured, grippy surface of this mat is my secret weapon against unwanted slippage. Whether I’m rowing like a champ or taking it easy, it stays put.

Seven folds of convenience – that’s how this mat rolls. When it’s not in action, it neatly tucks away, making storage a breeze. A workout mat that understands the art of minimalism.

Wiping away the sweat is a breeze with the textured, non-slip pebble surface. No fancy cleaning rituals here – just a damp cloth and it’s good to go. It’s like the mat understands that workouts are messy business.

At around $40, it’s not breaking the bank, but it’s no budget buy either. It’s the Goldilocks of exercise machine mats – just right for those serious about floor protection without a hefty price tag.

Crafted from an rubber and foam thick closed cell material, the Stamina Fold-to-Fit Folding Equipment Mat stands at dimensions of 84 inches in length, 36 inches in width, and a thickness of 7mm. Designed to be a versatile shield for all types of flooring, this robust mat, weighing 7 lbs, not only provides solid protection for your exercise equipment but also offers peace of mind with its 90-day limited warranty – a thoughtful touch that adds an extra layer of assurance.

Pros & Cons:

Pros:

  • A solid defender that stays put with the rower.
  • Big enough to handle just about any rowing machine.

Cons:

  • Nothing particularly fancy – it’s a straightforward protector.
  • Not great for carpet floors specially if your rowing machine is heavy.

Final Verdict:

My Hydrow found its match in this Stamina mat. No slippage, no floor worries – just solid protection. I dig that it folds, though I’m all about that full-length action. Sure, a lower price would have been sweet, but hey, quality comes with a price tag. No complaints from this side of the workout room. The Stamina Fold-to-Fit Folding Equipment Mat is holding its ground, literally.

MotionTex Rowing Mat Review: Top-Notch Protection for Your Rower

MotionTex Rowing Exercise Equipment Mat
MotionTex – Non-Slip Mat for Your Rowing Machine

Let’s dive into the MotionTex Exercise Equipment Mat – my floor’s loyal guardian in the realm of rowing. This mat is a solid choice for those aiming to shield their floors from the relentless strokes of a rowing machine. The slip-resistant texture on top ensures stability, and the rounded corners keep the mat from going rogue.

Crafted from recycled PVC, this mat is the ultimate defense against water, sweat, grease, and other workout liquids. Its easy-to-clean design makes post-workout maintenance a breeze, and the option to roll it up for storage is a boon for those tight on living space.

Size versatility is MotionTex’s forte, offering a range that accommodates various exercise equipment. I went for the largest size, a spacious 36 inches wide by 84 inches long, tailor-made for my NordicTrack RW900. Weighing in at 14 lbs and boasting a thickness of 3.7mm, this mat thrives on hard flooring and comes armed with a 1-year limited warranty against defects.

Its slip-resistant surface stands as a reliable ally, ensuring stability during the most intense workouts. The rounded corners of the mat serve as guardians against any hint of curling, maintaining a steady stance. Cleaning is a breeze – a simple rinse with soap and water keeps it in top-notch condition.

Whether you opt for the 24″ x 48″ Equipment Mat for your upright and magnetic spin bike, the 24″ x 60″ Equipment Mat for recumbent exercise bikes, the 30″ x 78″ Equipment Mat for elliptical machines, or the 36″ x 84″ Equipment Mat tailored for rowing machines, they all share the same PVC material and 3.7mm thickness, differing only in size and weight. It’s a family of mats, each ready to bring its unique blend of durability and functionality to your workout space.

Pros & Cons:

Pros:

  • Excels on hard floors with any rowing equipment.
  • Spacious enough for almost any rowing machine.
  • PVC material offers top-notch liquid protection.

Cons:

  • Pricier than some competitors with similar size and design.
  • Thine and not carpet-friendly for heavy machines and rowers.
  • Slightly heavier compared to other rowing machine mats.

Final Verdict:

In the days of my NordicTrack RW900 reign, this mat stood tall. Long enough to cover the entire rower’s length, it became the shield against both the rower’s feet and my workout-induced sweat on our luxury vinyl flooring. With an ideal thickness and sturdiness, it held its ground – no sinking or unwanted adherence. While it might be a tad heavier and pricier than some counterparts, the MotionTex Rowing Exercise Equipment Mat earned its keep, making me contemplate getting another for my trusty old Sole E35 elliptical machine. A sturdy companion in the world of rowing adventures.

BalanceFrom GoFit Rower Mat Review: High-Density Defense for Home Gyms

BalanceFrom GoFit High-Density Rower Mat
BalanceFrom GoFit – Premium Floor Defense for Indoor Rowing

Meet the BalanceFrom GoFit High-Density Rower Mat – a dense guardian for your floor that’s more versatile than your average mat. This mat means business with its high-density material, offering maximum protection to the ground below. But here’s the cool twist – it’s not just a one-trick pony.

The standout feature? It’s dual-sided magic. Yep, you heard it right. This mat moonlights as both a protective layer for rowing machines and a comfy yoga mat. The dense material not only shields the floor but is also a breeze to clean with just a splash of soap and water. Talk about a multitasking mat!

Adding to its charm, there are two versions in the lineup. The foldable one, a storage champ, and the regular version, a bit less flexible when it comes to rolling up. Versatility, thy name is BalanceFrom.

Now, let’s talk price. At just $25, this mat is a steal. For those dipping their toes into the mat-under-rower game, this is a solid contender to test the waters without breaking the bank.

I took the PVC 36″ x 78″ version for a spin – 9 lbs, 4.5 mm thick. It’s thicker than some protective mats but not as hefty as the Rubbermats that snagged the top spot on my list. Vibration absorption, noise reduction, and a promise not to bleed onto the carpet – check, check, and check. And let’s not forget the 2-year warranty – because peace of mind matters.

Pros & Cons:

Pros:

  • A robust and thick mat that plays well with all kinds of floors.
  • The yoga mat bonus? Absolute win. You can use it under rower or to do indoor exercises.
  • Wallet-friendly – the price won’t leave you with sticker shock.

Cons:

  • Carpet caution – if your rower extends beyond the mat edge, a bit of damage might sneak in.
  • A little less rigid which make is less ideal for soft carpet floors.

Final Verdict:

I’m smitten with this rowing machine float mat. Solid, grounded before the workout even kicks in, and zero slip-ups. Rolling and storing? A breeze! Teaming up with my Echelon rower, it not only protected the floor but left no marks. An exercise room essential or a trusty sidekick for your exercise machine – it’s a floor protector that earns its keep. In my book, the BalanceFrom GoFit High-Density Rower Mat is a keeper.

Wercho Mat Review: Comprehensive Floor Protection for Rowing Enthusiasts

Wercho Floor Fitness Equipment Mat
Wercho – Comprehensive Mat for Rowing Enthusiasts

Welcome to the spotlight, Wercho Floor Fitness Equipment Mat, specifically the new high density personal fitness equipment mat series. Now, this one doesn’t just claim a spot – it owns it by being “Pro.” Crafted from PVC, it’s here to keep your floor and your prized exercise machine in tip-top shape.

One standout feature? The size options. With three different choices, including a whopping 36 inches wide and 96 inches long, this mat means business. I snagged the 36″ x 96″ variant, a perfect match for my Concept 2 Model D rowing machine.

Need a different size? They’ve got you covered with options like 30″x60″ for exercise bikes and 36″x78″ for ellipticals – all boasting a 6mm thickness. And here’s the cherry on top: a 1-year warranty against manufacturing defects.

Versatility is its middle name, fitting seamlessly into any flooring and handling pets with ease. Surface scratches? Worst-case scenario. The price tag varies between $29 to $44, making it a reasonable investment without breaking the bank.

This mat isn’t just about protection; it’s a multi-tasker. A yoga mat? I personally prefer my comfier yoga mat but Sure, why not if you have good knees! The dual-sided design ensures it won’t bleed onto the carpet, making it a win-win.

Pros & Cons:

Pros:

  • Stellar floor protection for various surfaces.
  • Versatility – suits carpets, wood, concrete, and shiny stone floors.
  • The largest size can handle almost any exercise equipment.

Cons:

  • Watch out for excessive bending; it tends to crack.

Final Verdict:

Despite the box’s unfortunate journey, the rowing mat emerged unscathed. Quick unroll, an overnight settling in the basement, and voila – it slid perfectly under my Concept 2 rowing machine without a hint of off-gassing smells or curled ends. Wercho’s is a reliable floor defender that meets expectations, and I’m content with my investment.

RevTime Home Mat Review: Heavy-Duty Defense for Your Rowing Workouts

RevTime Home Rowing Machine Floor Mat
RevTime Home – Heavy-Duty Defense for Your Rower

So, I recently got my hands on the RevTime Home Rowing Machine Floor Mat, and let me tell you about my experience. Now, it might not be the best pick for those giant rowing machines like Concept2, but for the likes of smaller rowers such as the Sunny Health and Fitness SF-RW5515 and us middleweight users, it’s a winner.

What caught my eye is the cool design – blue spots scattered across the mat, giving it this almost starry vibe. It’s a mere 3mm thick, which is less than half the thickness of your regular rubber or some other mats I’ve checked out over the years.

Now, this mat means business. Despite its thiner density, it is maade of heavy-duty SBR and EPDM rubber, it feels sturdier than your average foam material. The high-density, thick design ensures it stays put, even during the most intense workouts. No shuffling around here!

One thing that impressed me is its ability to absorb vibration. It’s like a shield protecting my fitness equipment and my floor from potential damage and scratches. And let’s not forget about the noise – this mat acts like a silencer, making my workouts way more stealthy.

Now, there are two versions – a 3mm thick one and a 5mm thick one. Both get the job done, but if you’re aiming for that extra floor-rower gap, the 5mm is your go-to. But, here’s the kicker – it comes with a bit of a hefty price tag, around $75. So, be sure about your rowing machine dimensions and your setup area.

Pros and Cons:

Pros:

  • Well-built for rowing machine use, offering good protection.

Cons:

  • Slightly expensive, so budget-conscious buyers take note.
  • Thin and soft, not the best for carpets as it can dent the flooring.
  • Heavy and less maneuverable, not ideal for those seeking easy storage.
  • Size is not the most extensive available option compared to Powr Lab.

Final Verdict:

To sum it up, I rolled out this RevTime gem a few days ago, and so far, so good. Fits my rowing machine like a glove, and it’s thin yet sturdy. My only tiny worry is if it’s robust enough for the long run to protect my cherry wood flooring from the heavy rowing machine. No complaints from me yet, though!

Jishahs Fitness Mat Review: A 4mm Thick Universal Mat for Indoor Rowing Bliss

Jishahs Fitness Equipment Mat
Jishahs – Universal Mat for Indoor Rowing Bliss

Let me spill the beans on the Jishahs Fitness Equipment Mat because it has completely transformed my indoor rowing sessions. This universal rowing mat, with its 4mm thickness, has truly exceeded my expectations, and I can’t wait to share my firsthand experience with you.

Measuring a whopping 102 inches in length and 27.5 inches in width, this mat is like a superhero for my rowing machines. It fits perfectly under popular brands such as Concept 2, Nordictrac, Sunny, and Hydrow. And let me tell you, the extra-long length provides complete coverage, ensuring that my floor remains scratch-free even during the most intense rowing sessions.

What sets this Universal Rowing Mat apart is not just its size, but also its compatibility with various rowing machines and its use of durable, waterproof materials. I have to give a special shoutout to its non-slip surface; it gives me a secure grip, making me feel incredibly stable throughout my workouts. Trust me, this mat is a game-changer!

Now, the perks of this mat are its robust construction, affordability, speedy delivery (thanks, Amazon!), and that fantastic non-slip surface. But fair warning, it’s a bit on the heavy side, which can be a tiny hiccup in terms of maneuverability.

I picked this mat because it checked all the boxes – it plays nice with my rowing machine, uses high-density PVC foam for a sturdy build, and boasts sweat and water-proof features. The quick delivery and affordability were sweet bonuses that sealed the deal for me.

The Universal Rowing Mat’s design choices shine through its thoughtful construction with high-density PVC foam, ensuring both durability and comfort. The non-slip and water-proof features just amp up its performance.

Pros and cons:

Pros:

  • Non slippery and fairly padded surface.
  • Easy to clean and store.

Cons:

  • Only one size is available.
  • It’s not as thick as some other models.

Conclusion:

I’m waving the flag for the Universal Rowing Mat. It’s the go-to for anyone seeking a reliable, durable mat for indoor rowing. With its ideal size, superb non-slip grip, long-lasting quality, and waterproof magic, it’s a standout. Yeah, it’s a tad heavy, but the perks overshadow that. If you want a mat that shields your floor, keeps your rowing machine steady, and arrives in a jiffy, this is the one. It’s a pro at catching sweat droplets during hardcore sessions and maintaining stability, even for the rowing enthusiasts. Plus, the 30-day money-back guarantee and a 12-month quality warranty add extra layers of trust and reliability.

Crostice PVC Mat Review: Tailor-Made Protection for Your Indoor Rower

Crostice PVC Mat for Rowing Machine
Crostice – Tailor-Made Protection for Your Indoor Rower

Alright, let’s take a deep dive into the Crostice PVC Mat for Rowing Machine – a real gem that I recently added to my home gym collection. Here’s the scoop on this awesome rowing accessory.

First things first, you’re not just getting one, but two pieces of this sleek and minimalist rowing mat. The Crostice Double Mini Rowing Mat is not only practical, but it’s also a genius money-saver. It’s the perfect companion for your beloved rowing machine. Just grab it, set it up, and voila! Your gym area is ready to go even before your rower arrives. It’s a must-have for all serious rowers out there!

Now, let’s talk about the impressive features of this mat. It’s a master at reducing noise and vibrations. No more worrying about disturbing the whole neighborhood during your intense rowing sessions. Plus, it provides excellent protection for your carpets and floors. With a thickness of 6mm, it’s a whopping 50% thicker than other mats out there. That’s some serious cushioning power right there!

The Crostice team didn’t stop there. They’ve gone above and beyond to create a rowing machine mat that’s slip-resistant on both sides. No more worrying about your bike moving during intense workouts. And the best part? It’s sweatproof and waterproof, so a quick wipe down and it’s good as new.

Now, let’s talk about compatibility. The Crostice mat is like a chameleon, adapting to different rowing machines. It’s compatible with Concept 2, WaterRowers, NordicTrack Smart Rower, and several other high-end smart rowing machines. Not only is it high-quality, but it’s also designed to withstand all your rowing adventures. Plus, it’s compact and easy to store.

The Crostice team takes their accessories seriously. They offer a lifetime guarantee because they’re committed to perfection. If you ever have any questions or issues, just reach out to them – they’ve got your back.

Pros and Cons:

Pros:

  • Easy to move and store in bite-sized pieces.
  • A cushy 6mm thickness made of durable PVC material.
  • Versatile – perfect for carpet, wood, and the like.

Cons:

  • It’s in two pieces, not one seamless wonder.
  • Doesn’t shield the floor from the sweat zone.
  • Pricier than it ideally should be.

Conclusion:

I snagged the Crostice Mats to cozy up under my rowing machine, and so far, it’s been a solid choice. The thickness provides a nice buffer for vibrations, shields my hard floor from any rower shenanigans, and ensures my workout gear stays put. A little roll-and-flatten magic is needed, but no biggie. Being closed-cell, cleaning is a breeze. At $48, it’s on the spendier side, but it looks like it’s built to go the distance. I’ll keep you posted if it decides to throw in the towel, but for now, it’s rowing bliss!


Definitive Guide to Choosing the Perfect Floor Protection Mat for Your Rowing Machine

Sayed Hamed Hosseiny in the image trying different floor mats under his rowing machine to pick the best ones for the article
best rowing machine mats by Sayed

We have created the ultimate buying guide to help you make an informed decision and provided essential tips for caring and maintaining your new fitness essential.

  1. Size Matters:

Before making a purchase, measure the space where you plan to place your rowing machine. It’s important to select a mat that not only fits the machine perfectly but also leaves enough room around it for easy movement.

  1. Thickness for Comfort and Protection:

Opt for a mat with the right thickness to provide both comfort and protection. A thicker mat will not only safeguard your flooring from impact but also reduce noise during your intense workouts. Additionally, the added cushioning will make your exercise sessions more comfortable and enjoyable.

  1. Weight and Portability:

If you anticipate moving the mat frequently, consider its weight. A lighter mat will be easier to handle and transport. However, make sure it doesn’t compromise on durability. Look for a mat that strikes the perfect balance between being lightweight and long-lasting.

  1. Material Longevity:

Evaluate the composition of the material. Optimal options for long-lasting safeguarding against damage include high-density PVC foam, rubber, and resilient fabrics.

  1. Secure Traction:

Seek out a mat featuring a non-slip surface to ensure both the mat and your rowing machine stay firmly in position even during vigorous workout sessions.

  1. Adaptability:

Contemplate a mat that serves multiple purposes. If you intend to partake in various activities such as yoga or strength training, a versatile mat can effortlessly accommodate all your fitness requirements.

Tip to keep your rowing machine mat in top shape

My visual guide on how to keep your rowing machine floor mat in good shape
  1. Keep it Clean:

To keep your mat looking and performing its best, make sure to regularly wipe it down with a damp cloth and mild soap. This will remove any sweat or dirt and help maintain its non-slip properties.

  1. Gentle Cleaning:

Avoid using harsh chemicals that could potentially damage the mat’s material. Stick to gentle cleaning solutions to preserve its quality and longevity.

  1. Proper Storage:

When it’s time to put your mat away, remember to roll it up instead of folding it. This will prevent creases from forming and ensure that it stays in great condition. You can also use straps or ties to secure it in place.

  1. Rotate for Even Wear:

If possible, periodically rotate your mat to distribute wear evenly. This will prevent specific areas from wearing out faster than others, prolonging the lifespan of your mat.

  1. Regular Inspections:

Take the time to regularly inspect your mat for any signs of wear, tear, or damage. By addressing any issues early on, you can prevent them from becoming bigger problems down the line.

  1. Follow Manufacturer Guidelines:

Always follow any care instructions provided by the mat’s manufacturer. Different materials may require specific care routines for optimal performance, so it’s important to adhere to these guidelines.


FAQ

Q: Do I need an exercise mat?

A: It is recommended to have one of these mats. Rowing machines, treadmills, ellipticals and other types of exercise equipment can really damage both carpet and hard floors over time. Therefore, it is generally recommended to use a mat for regular exercise.

Q: What is the purpose of an exercise mat?

A: The purpose of these mats contains 2 primary elements. The first is to protect the floor against the repeated motion and pressure that usually emanates from these machines. Regular exercise on these often heavy machines can really do some lasting damage to all sorts of floors. The second job is to do the opposite. Dust and other materials from the floor can get into the mechanical bits of the machine, damaging it. Nobody wants to buy either a new floor or a new rower, so these mats keep both safe.

Q: Can I clean these mats? How do I do that?

A: Yes, you most certainly can clean these mats. Sweaty mats can really start to smell after a while, so many designers have had to incorporate an easy way to get rid of this smell and dirt. Just about all mats are able to be cleaned with a simple combination of soap.


9.7Expert Score
Best Rowing Machine Floor Mats

Discover the best rowing machine mats with our top 10 picks, including SuperMats 29GS, Power Labs, Sunny Health & Fitness, Stamina Fold-to-Fit, MotionTex, BalanceFrom GoFit, Crostic, RevTime, Jishahs, and AmazonBasic PVC Mat. SuperMats 29GS takes the lead, followed by the runner-up Resilia. Sunny Health & Fitness offers great value, perfect for compact spaces is Stamina Fold-to-Fit, while MotionTex stands out for versatility, and BalanceFrom GoFit for its lightweight design. Velotas Pro, RevTime, Velotas High-Density, and AmazonBasic PVC Mat also have unique qualities. These mats provide exceptional floor protection and stability during rowing workouts. For a quick comparison, check out our buyer’s guide for detailed insights tailored to your specific needs. Elevate your rowing experience with the best floor mats for rowing machines.

Performance
9.9
Durability
9.8
Material
9.5
Versatility
10
Comfort
9.5

Sayed Hamed Hosseiny
Sayed Hamed Hosseiny

Hi, my name is Sayed Hamed Hosseiny. I am a professional health and fitness trainer with nearly 20 years of experience using ellipticals, rowing machines, and spin bikes. I also have my own EU-based Rock Fitness Pro fitness brand where I design, import and sell exercise equipment such as rowing machines and spin bikes. I and writers on my team also often receive fitness equipment to review and evaluate their functionalities and performance from tens of different exercise machines manufacturers. Fitness equipment tips, guides, reviews, and comparisons on this website are my opinion (and opinions of my fitness expert colleagues) based on tens of criteria. I never accept payment to write reviews of products or say positive things about fitness equipment products. If brands are interested to have me review their rowers, ellipticals, or spin bikes, they can get in touch with me via email provided on the contact page and send a sample of their product.

      BEMH
      Logo